Olivier Awards: Sarah Snook and Nicole Scherzinger win but Sunset Boulevard tops award count | Ents & Arts News

The prestigious Olivier Awards took place last night at the Royal Albert Hall in London, and it was a night to remember for two talented women in the entertainment industry. Australian actress Sarah Snook and American singer Nicole Scherzinger both took home awards for their outstanding performances in the theatre world.

Sarah Snook, known for her roles in films such as “Steve Jobs” and “Winchester,” won the award for Best Actress in a Play for her performance in “The Glass Menagerie” at the Duke of York’s Theatre. Snook’s portrayal of the complex character Laura Wingfield was praised by critics and audiences alike, and her win at the Olivier Awards solidifies her status as a rising star in the theatre world.

Nicole Scherzinger, best known as the lead singer of the Pussycat Dolls and a judge on “The X Factor,” won the award for Best Actress in a Musical for her role as Grizabella in “Cats” at the London Palladium. Scherzinger’s powerful vocals and emotional performance in the iconic musical have garnered rave reviews, and her Olivier Award win is a well-deserved recognition of her talent on the stage.

While Snook and Scherzinger were certainly the highlights of the evening, it was Andrew Lloyd Webber’s musical “Sunset Boulevard” that stole the show in terms of award count. The classic musical, based on the 1950 film of the same name, took home a total of five awards, including Best Musical Revival, Best Actor in a Musical for Danny Mac, and Best Supporting Actress in a Musical for Ria Jones.

Other notable winners at the Olivier Awards included Ian McKellen for Best Actor in a Play for his role in “King Lear” at the Duke of York’s Theatre, and Miranda Hart for Best Actress in a Supporting Role for her performance in “Annie” at the Piccadilly Theatre.

Overall, the Olivier Awards was a night of celebration and recognition for the talented individuals who contribute to the vibrant and diverse world of theatre. Congratulations to all the winners, and here’s to another year of exceptional performances and unforgettable moments on the stage.